Stories Around the Globe

INEC: Obaseki Declared Winner of Edo State Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced Godwin Obaseki of the Peoples Democratic Party, winner of the Edo State governorship election.

Obaseki ran against Ize-Iyamu of All Progressive Congress (APC) and 13 others.

The PDP gubernatorial candidate polled 307,955 votes against 223,619 votes of the APC candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

While declaring Obaseki as winner, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh said, the present governor was re-elected after satisfying all stipulated law requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.