Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures Appoints New Chairman

Hon. Abubakar Suleiman, Speaker of Bauchi State House of Assembly, has been appointed as the new Chairman of the Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures in Nigeria. The newly-elected Speaker took over Hon. Mudashiru Obasa who had just recently completed his tenure. Elected leaders are to observe a two-year term of office that rotates between the north and the southern part of Nigeria, and is in tandem with the conference’s extant laws.

It was revealed that the former Chairman of the Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures in Nigeria, Hon. Mudashiru Obasa today at a meeting held at Reiz Continental Hotel in Abuja, formally handed over to Abubakar Suleiman. He is appointed to oversee and lead the conference for the next two years.

Other members of the committee include; Hon. Sheriff Oborevwori; Deputy Chairman (Speaker Delta state), Hon. Matthew Kolawole; Treasurer (Speaker Kogi), Hon. Edward Ubosi; Financial Secretary (Enugu), Vice-Chair, Hon. Tasiu Musa Maigari; North West (Katsina), Hon. Sadiq Ibrahim Abubakar; Vice-Chair, North East ( Gombe), Hon. Abok Nuhu Ayuba; Vice-Chair, North Central (Plateau), Hon. Olakunle Oluomo; Vice-Chair, South West (Speaker Ogun), Hon Nwifuru Francis; Vice-Chair, South East ( Ebonyi), Hon. Aniekan Bassey; Vice-Chair, South-South (Akwa Ibom).

Read Also: #ENDSARS: Speaker of House of Rep Refuses to Sign the 2021 Budget

Meanwhile, Obasa’s two-year term saw the need for financial autonomy for state legislatures and the judiciary as well as cooperation with the government of President Muhammadu Buhari to achieve this.

In reference to May 22, 2020, President Buhari appended Executive Order 10 for the implementation of financial autonomy after a committee report on the same issue was handed over to him.

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.