President Buhari Retains Mahmood as INEC Chairman

Professor Mahmood Yakubu, Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has been reappointed by President Muhammadu Buhari for another five-year term.

Femi Adesina, Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, made this announcement in a statement entitled ‘President Buhari nominates Prof Mahmood Yakubu as INEC Chairman for a Second Term in Office’.

The President, in his letter to Ahmad Lawan, the Senate President, stated that, in agreement with the provision of Section 154 (1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended), ‘I am pleased to present for confirmation by the Senate, the nomination of Professor Mahmood Yakubu for appointment as Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for a second and final term.’

Read Also: Yakubu Hands Over as INEC Chairman

Mr Yakubu, who was first appointed in November 2015 as INEC chairman, took the baton from Prof. Attahiru Jega, who supervised the 2015 general elections.

The incumbent INEC Chairman, also directed the 2019 general election and some off-cycle elections in Kogi, Edo and Ondo states.

However, amid the various criticisms he had gotten from both local and international observers for inadequacies in some elections he had supervised, the recent Edo and Ondo Governorship elections he supervised, were highly commended. Whereby, the Edo Governorship election was won by the candidacy of the Peoples’ Democratic Party(PDP), the main opposition party, while the All Progressive Congress candidacy, won the Ondo gubernatorial election.

Adenike Omosanya

Credit Photo: thenationonline

Categories: News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.