PTF to Release List of COVID-19 Travel Protocol Violators

The Presidential Task Force (PTF) has announced that the identities of 100 Nigerians whose travel documents have been suspended for six months, following their violation of travel protocols, are soon to be made public. In view of this, the PTF gave new travel rules for passengers coming into Nigeria from South Africa and the United Kingdom. This is as a result of the two countries experiencing a new variant of COVID-19.

Sani Aliyu, PTF National Coordinator, made this known on Thursday during his media briefing in Abuja. He stated that disclosing the identities of the errant 100 Nigerians would help curb further acts. Foreign passport holders who violate COVID-19 protocols would also be sanctioned with the revocation of their visas.

Read Also: COVID-19: Laxity Across Nigerian Cities

The new COVID-19 guideline will be implemented for the next five weeks. They include: civil servants from Grade Level 12 and below to stay at home for the next five weeks, the closure of all bars, nightclubs, pubs and event centres, as well as recreational venues in all states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

All restaurants have been ordered to close with the exception of those providing services to hotel residents, takeaway, home deliveries and drive-ins.

Also, all informal and formal festivity events, such as weddings, conferences, congresses, office parties, concerts, seminars, sporting activities, end of year events, have been restricted to not more than 50 people.

The government also limited all religious gatherings to less than 50 per cent of the capacity of the facility of use with strict enforcement of physical distancing and use of face masks.

He added that public transportation systems should carry passengers not more than 50 per cent of their capacity, in adherence to the social distancing rules.


Categories: Features, Health

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.